While building a crossGrid package, you can set an expiry date for the crossGrid package including the transmitted crossTank and crossTerm entries. After this date, the upload of the package on the Trusted Server side is no longer possible. The tasks contained in the package can no longer be opened or edited on the Trusted Server side and the provided crossTank and crossTerm entries are not available any more. Therefore you should take care of a substantial time buffer when defining the expiration date.
However, the crossTank and crossTerm entries will not be deleted and can be re-activated by updating the expiration date. To do this, the expiration date must first be changed on the Master Server side in the package properties (using the button of the same name). Subsequently, the expiration date must be updated on the Trusted Server side. To do this, you should only update the list of received crossGrid packages by clicking Update list. The crossGrid package does not need to be built anew on the Master Server side. Also, it is not necessary to download the package on the Trusted Server side once again.
The tasks delegated within a certain package to a Trusted Server can be treated as normal tasks. These tasks can in turn be delegated to offline users together with any crossTank and crossTerm entries of the Master Server and of the Trusted Server. Use the option Do not allow to attach data to package on intermediate servers for crossTank and crossTerm to determine that only the data originating from your Master Server are to be used on the Trusted Server side. To access this option, activate the option for the filter restrictions for crossTank/crossTerm in the properties of the respective project on the Settings tab and click Define. You can also activate this option in the project settings templates under Tools > System Settings > General > Project Settings Templates.
Your Server as Trusted Server
If tasks in the form of crossGrid packages are delegated from another Across Server to your Across Server, your Across Server takes on the function of the Trusted Server. The crossGrid packages delegated to your Server can be managed in the section Received packages of the crossGrid module.
After finishing the tasks contained in the crossGrid package, you can send the package back to the Master Server with the help of the crossGrid Deliver Wizard by clicking Upload.
Due to technical reasons, you cannot work in crossDesk while downloading or importing crossGrid packages.
Server list update
By default, all Master Servers are queried for delegated tasks when the list is updated. Depending on the response time of the respective Master Server, this process can take some time. Therefore, you can limit the query and display to a specific Master Server by means of the tree view. To do this, select a Server from the tree view. The limitation to only one server is indicated by the blue coloring of the Master Server column.
The package name and the name of the Master Server are indicated in the properties of the delegated tasks.
Some relevant sections of the system settings of the Master Servers to which your Trusted Server assigns tasks are displayed in the system settings. The particular server can be selected via a drop-down list (by default, the local Across Server is displayed).
For example, this enables you as a project manager on the Trusted Server side to see which settings are selected on the Master Server side. All settings are displayed read-only.
If the icon of a crossGrid package changes from to , this means that the package has undergone changes and the package must be packaged anew (by means of the Build button). For example, this may be the case if tasks assigned to the package have been unassigned or new tasks have been assigned to the package.