CAT Tools for Translators

Across Translator Edition Including Translation Memory, Terminology System, Quality Assurance, and Project Management

The Database as Central Repository

In Across, you work on the basis of databases that are installed together with your Across Translator Edition. All data from the translation memory, the terminology database, and the associated project data are stored centrally. Depending on the settings configured by your customer, you may be able to store the translation memory and terminology received with the project in your own databases. Language data are stored together with the associated attributes, such as the subject, relation, and project, enabling you to find whatever you are looking for with the help of the filter settings.

Universal Translation Editor

In the translation editor of the CAT tool, all relevant information is displayed in a clearly structured form. No matter whether you translate a Word or XML file or localize software, you always work in the same environment. Apart from the source text and the target text, you can see the search hits from the translation memory and the terminology database. Depending on your customer's settings, the Across Translator Premium Edition may allow you to use your own databases even when working in the Offline Client. A preview can be generated for most formats in order to check the layout.

Terminology Management Integrated by Default

In Across, you can store preferred terms as well as synonyms, definitions, and usage information. By determining misnomers, you can avoid terminology that is to be avoided from creeping into your texts. The translation editor shows you suitable terminology entries for the sentence that is currently being edited. In the translation memory of the CAT tool, you can also easily check the context in which a word was used in the past.

Satisfied Translators

Simone Janssen
Certified translator

Translations in the financial and banking sectors are often time-critical and liability-relevant. Across saves me a lot of time and ensures the consistency of my texts.

Martin Ritschel
Graduate translator

Across facilitates a smooth cooperation with high-volume customers thanks to standardized processes for the management of multilingual translation projects. The various quality assurance tools provided at the end of the translation process are especially helpful.

Dipl.-Ing. Bernd Flatter
Technical translator

Across … more and more my favourite tool to make life easier and to improve quality …

Manuela Bache
Certified translator

Across was my first CAT tool and it is my favourite until today. It is exceptionally easy to use, enables me to translate almost all file formats without any problems, and its user interface has become even more user-friendly since version 6.0.

Transparent Project Management

For every new project, you can define the source texts, target languages, due dates, and quality criteria. During check-in, source documents are split by format and content and analyzed. Optionally, matches from the translation memory can be inserted in the target text as pre-translation. Throughout the project, you can monitor the progress of the subtasks. Important: To check out your projects, you need the Across Translator Premium Edition. Once a project is finished, a report showing the workload, repetition rates, and quality can be used as the basis for controlling and billing.

Easy Networking with Your Customers

To receive orders from customers who have an Across Language Server, you can use the Across Translator Edition as Offline Client. For this, you need a softkey from your customer. Additionally, the Across Translator Premium Edition enables you to process and check out orders without connecting to any Across Language Server.

Integration of Personal TM and Terminology

The Across Translator Premium Edition allows you to use your own translation memories and terminology databases even when working in the Offline Client. When you do a job for a customer who has an Across Language Server, you can thus benefit both from the databases provided by the customer and from your own databases. In this way, you can use Across even more efficiently.

Connection to Machine Translation

Boost your productivity by connecting your Across Translator Edition to a machine translation system. Currently, interfaces are available to DeepL, KantanMT, Moses, SYSTRAN, and Google Translate. Determine the language combinations, system attributes, relations, and paragraph lengths for which the machine translation is to be activated or deactivated. You can combine these settings as you wish. You can determine individually from which match rate the machine translation is to be applied. Thus, your system is as flexible as you want it to be. Of course, the use of machine translation also depends on what you have agreed with your customers.

Pricing and Download

On my-across.net, you can download the Across Translator Edition and find helpful tips and tricks for the software.

Features and Pricing

By the way: The premium variant of the Across Translator Edition is also free of charge for students.
For further information on crossMarket

So geht's

CAT-Tool für Übersetzer

Across Translator Edition inklusive Translation Memory, Terminologiesystem, Qualitätssicherung, Projektverwaltung

Die Datenbank als zentraler Speicher

In Across arbeiten Sie auf Basis von Datenbanken, die zusammen mit Ihrer Across Translator Edition installiert werden. Alle Daten aus dem Translation Memory, der Terminologiedatenbank und die dazugehörigen Projektdaten werden zentral gespeichert. Je nachdem, welche Voreinstellungen Ihr Auftraggeber getroffen hat, können Sie auch die mit dem Projekt empfangenen Translation Memorys und Terminologien in Ihren eigenen Datenbanken speichern. Mit allen sprachlichen Daten werden auch die zugehörigen Attribute wie Fachgebiete, Kunde oder Projekt gespeichert, sodass Sie mit den Filtereinstellungen immer finden, was Sie benötigen.

Universeller Übersetzungseditor

Im Übersetzungseditor des CAT-Tools werden alle relevanten Informationen übersichtlich auf einen Blick dargestellt. Egal, ob Sie eine Word- oder XML-Datei übersetzen oder Software lokalisieren, Sie arbeiten stets in derselben Umgebung. Neben dem Quell- und Zieltext stehen Ihnen die Suchtreffer aus dem Translation Memory und der Terminologiedatenbank zur Verfügung. In der Across Translator Premium Edition können Sie – je nach Voreinstellung Ihres Auftraggebers – auch im Offline-Client Ihre eigenen Datenbanken verwenden. Zur Layoutkontrolle steht für die meisten Formate eine Vorschau zur Verfügung.

Standardmäßig integrierte Terminologieverwaltung

In Across können Sie bevorzugt zu verwendende Benennungen ebenso wie Synonyme, Definitionen oder Verwendungshinweise hinterlegen. Die Festlegung sogenannter Unworte verhindert, dass Sie in Ihren Texten Terminologie verwenden, die vermieden werden sollen. Im Übersetzungseditor werden Ihnen korrespondierende Terminologie-Einträge zum gerade bearbeiteten Satz angezeigt. Sie können auch einfach im Translation Memory des CAT-Tools überprüfen, in welchem Kontext ein Wort in der Vergangenheit verwendet wurde.

Zufriedene Übersetzer

Simone Janssen
Staatl. gepr. Übersetzerin

Übersetzungen im Finanz- und Bankwesen sind oft zeitkritisch und haftungsrelevant. Across erspart mir viel Arbeitszeit und sichert die Konsistenz meiner Texte.

Martin Ritschel
Diplom-Übersetzer

Durch standardisierte Prozesse für das Management von vielsprachigen Übersetzungsprojekten erleichtert Across die Zusammenarbeit mit Großkunden. Besonders wichtig: die vielfältigen Funktionen zur Qualitätssicherung am Ende des Übersetzungsprozesses.

Dipl.-Ing. Bernd Flatter
Technische Fachübersetzungen

Von den fünf TM-Systemen, die ich aktuell für meine technischen Fachübersetzungen im Einsatz habe, kristallisiert sich Across mehr und mehr als der absolute Favorit heraus und hilft mir, die Qualität meiner Übersetzungen immer weiter zu verbessern.

Manuela Bache
Staatl. gepr. Übersetzerin

Across war mein erstes CAT-Tool und ist heute noch mein Favorit. Es ist unschlagbar in der einfachen Bedienung, bietet mir die Möglichkeit fast alle Dateiformate problemlos zu bearbeiten und ist seit der Version 6.0 noch übersichtlicher geworden.

Transparentes Projektmanagement

Bei der Anlage jedes Projekts definieren Sie die Quelltexte, Zielsprachen, Fälligkeitsdaten und Qualitätskriterien. Die Quelldokumente werden beim Einchecken nach Form und Inhalt getrennt und analysiert. Übereinstimmungen im Translation Memory werden optional als Vorübersetzungen in den Zieltext eingefügt. Während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit überblicken Sie den Fortschritt der Teilaufgaben. Wichtig: Das Auschecken Ihrer Projekte ist nur mit der Across Translator Premium Edition möglich. Nach Projektabschluss kann Ihnen ein Bericht über Aufwände, Wiederholungsraten und die Qualität als Basis für das Controlling und Ihre Abrechnung dienen.

Einfache Vernetzung mit dem Auftraggeber

Um Aufträge von Kunden entgegenzunehmen, die einen Across Language Server im Einsatz haben, nutzen Sie die Across Translator Edition als Offline-Client. Von Ihrem Auftraggeber bekommen Sie hierzu einen Softkey. Mit der Across Translator Premium Edition können Sie außerdem Aufträge ohne die Verbindung zu einem Across Language Server bearbeiten und auschecken.

Einbindung eigener TM und Terminologie

Mit der Across Translator Premium Edition können Sie Ihre eigenen Translation Memorys und Terminologiedatenbanken auch im Offline-Client verwenden. Wenn Sie für einen Auftraggeber arbeiten, der einen Across Language Server im Einsatz hat, können Sie also zusätzlich zu seinen Datenbanken auch Ihre eigenen hinzuziehen. Dadurch arbeiten Sie noch effizienter mit Across.

Anbindung maschineller Übersetzung

Steigern Sie Ihre Produktivität, indem Sie ein System für maschinelle Übersetzung an Ihre Across Translator Edition anbinden. Aktuell stehen Ihnen Schnittstellen zu DeepL, KantanMT, Moses, SYSTRAN und Google Translate zur Verfügung. Legen Sie die Sprachkombinationen, Systemattribute, Relationen und Absatzlängen fest, bei denen die maschinelle Übersetzung aktiviert oder deaktiviert wird. Diese Einstellungen können Sie beliebig kombinieren. Sie können individuell festlegen, ab welcher Match-Quote die maschinelle Übersetzung einsetzt. Ihr System ist damit so flexibel wie Sie! Die Einbindung maschineller Übersetzung hängt natürlich auch von den Vereinbarungen mit Ihren Auftraggebern ab.

Preise und Download

Auf my-across.net können Sie die Across Translator Edition herunterladen und finden hilfreiche Tipps und Tricks zur Software.

Features und Preise

Für Studierende ist die Across Translator Edition übrigens auch in der Premium-Variante kostenlos.
Weitere Informationen auf crossMarket

So geht's